All (wo)men created equal?

It’s true that I never really considered myself a feminist– until very recently that is. I would be the first to admit that that was predominantly as a result of my upbringing. I never knew discrimination because of my gender, never knew of the hardships women had to endure outside of what was in my primary school history books.

My life was- is- very comfortable and I’m ashamed to say that there was a time when I genuinely believed that feminism wasn’t needed, that women had gotten to a place where we no longer needed to assert our rights.

My opinion on the matter has done a 180 in the past couple of years, however. Even then, although I subscribed considerably to the views of feminists, I never referred to myself as such. It wasn’t until I was sitting in a class room listening to a male classmate belittle any hardship that women had ever endured by arguing that some men (some being the key word here- he knew of one man who had been ‘discriminated’ against because he was a man) have and do endure the same that I decided that yes, I would label myself as a feminist.

According to a recent study carried out, 1 in 3 women admit to having been the victim of psychological abuse by partner. 1 in 6 admitted to having suffered physical abuse at the hands of a partner (but this, according to the aforementioned classmate, does not tell us anything about the number of male victims- as if that takes away from its credibility).

If you were to ask me what kind of feminist I am (liberal, cultural, radical or postmodern), I would honestly say that I don’t fit rigidly into one category. But the goal is the same, even if some are more extreme in their views than others: equal opportunities regardless of gender.

And that is something that I can definitely get behind.

Leave a Reply

